

The Delaware Crossing Patriot Kansas Society Sons of the American Revolution April 2023 Metro Kansas City's Oldest & Largest Chapter, Founded 1960

The Revolution is coming! Three Years – 3 Months - Four Days

### NEXT MEETING: When: April 15, 2023

<u>Where</u>: Hilton Garden Inn. 12080 Strang Line Road, Olathe, KS 66062, 9:00am

**Reservations & Cost**: For reservations, email Secretary@dxsar.com or call Steven French (913)-832-6034 by 7:00 PM, Tuesday, April 11, 2023.

## <u>Cost</u>: <u>\$22.00/person</u>

## **CALENDAR & COMING EVENTS**

<u>May 2023</u>

- 15 DX EC Meeting
- 18 DX Chapter Meeting
- 6 BOG Meeting

June 2023

- 14 DX EC Meeting
- 17 DX Chapter Meeting

#### July 2023

- 12 DX EC Meeting
- 15 DX Chapter Meeting

# The President's Corner



## By Larry Tatum

The annual State Conference was held on March 18<sup>th,</sup> and I want to thank all of the Delaware Crossing members that took time from their Saturday to attend.

While not all that we wished to accomplish was achieved, a key change was made to the proposed Constitution and Bylaws prior to their passage. Thanks to his tenacity and knowledge of the

1

Roberts Rules of Order, Compatriot Dewey Fry was able to make a successful motion to delete the entire Section 6. from Handbook II.

Section 6. would have required that each Chapter operate in a standardized manner regardless of size or tradition. I believe that each Chapter has found a way that works for them in their unique situations and the Kansas Society should respect our autonomy.

This favorable outcome may be short lived. New members of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee have been appointed by State President Bryan Wampler and they are already at work correcting and proposing changes to the Handbooks that were approved at the State Conference.

But rest assured that the members of the Delaware Crossing Chapter will protect our interests by diligently monitoring the Committee's work.





Dewey Fry is presented the Lifetime Achievement Award by Larry Tatum

### Dewey Fry Receives the Delaware Crossing Chapter's Lifetime Achievement Award

For just the second time in the 62-year history of the Delaware Crossing Chapter, the Lifetime Achievement Award has been given. The rarity of this award speaks to the qualifications necessary for its presentation.

This second presentation has been made to Compatriot H. Dewey Fry. Dewey has been and continues to be the cement that holds our Chapter together. His knowledge and guidance, although may not be what we wish to hear, has always been accurate and precisely what we need to continue our growth as a Chapter. Many of our members may not realize that behind the scenes and without fanfare, Dewey is coordinating events and doing whatever is needed to make our Chapter the success that it is. We wouldn't be a top tier Chapter without Dewey's tireless work.

This article is probably embarrassing to Dewey, but he needs to be congratulated and honored for his 20 plus years of service.

Thank you, Dewey Fry!





*Rick Alley is presented the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal by Larry Tatum.* 



Dewey Fry is presented the Von Steuben Medal by NSSAR Color Guard Commander Brooks Lyles, Jake Cox is to the left and Steve Hamlin to the right.

### **Delaware Crossing Chapter Award Recipients**

The Delaware Crossing Chapter held its annual Awards meeting on Saturday March 11. Awards to members presented were as follows in order of increasing precedence as listed by the NSSAR for the awards.

Certificate of Distinguished Service (No Precedence)

- Shawn Cowing
- Dewey Fry
- John Martin
- Dennis Nelson
- Bruce Smith

Bronze C.A.R.-SAR Medal of Appreciation (#50)

• Richard "Dick Nelson"-Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster

Bronze Good Citizenship Medal (#40) David Pierson -Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster Bronze Roger Sherman Medal (#39)

- Rick Alley
- Daniel Dryer
- Stuart Conrad-Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster (2<sup>nd</sup>)
- Kirk Rush-Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster (3<sup>rd</sup>)

Bronze Meritorious Service Medal (#38)

• Steven French

Bronze Medal of Distinguished Service (#37)

• Timothy Peterman

The Delaware Crossing Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dewey Fry. This award was created in 2009 and first presented to Herrick H. "Kes" Kesler on November 21, 2009. Kes was a greatly respected past leader of SAR at the Chapter and State Levels. The Delaware Crossing Chapter Kesler Youth Endowment Fund was named in his honor. Henry Dewey Fry is the second recipient of this prestigious award.

In addition to Chapter Level awards Gary Leroy Hicks was presented, from the NSSAR, the War Service Medal with VIETNAM Campaign Bar precedence #4 and the Certificate of Patriotism for Veterans Service, aka the Veterans Corp Certificate has no individual precedence stated but is considered to be very high and should be presented at time of War Service Medal.

Additionally, several Delaware Crossing members and their spouses were presented awards at the

Kansas Society of the Sons of the American Revolution at their Annual Conference on Saturday March 18, 2023, in Olathe.

Kirk Rush was presented the Edgar E. Grover Colonial Soldier of the Year Award, which is a traveling plaque with all past winner's names on individual plates plus the most recipient. It is an award earned based on a point system for participation in events. This is a Kansas Society award. (#56 on NSSAR precedence list)

Other awards were presented as follows: Silver Roger Sherman Medal (#31)

- Bruce Smith
- Stu Conrad-Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster
- Kirk Rush-Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster

Silver Color Guard Medal (#16)

• Steven French

Von Steuben Medal (#13)

• H. Dewey Fry

Historian General and NSSAR Color Guard Commander Brooks Lyles Presented the award which is a National Society level award.

In addition, Kirk Rush also presented again the Delaware Crossing Lifetime Achievement Award to Dewey at the KSSSAR Annual conference, although Jake Cox was standing next to Dewey when the Von Steuben Medal was presented.

Silver SAR 250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the USA Medal (#12 on Ladies Awards Precedence List)

• Pat Fry

The Molly Pitcher Medal (#8 on Ladies Awards Precedence List)

• Lisa Karen Rush

For her routine support with great dedication of her SAR Color Guardsman Kirk Rush and the SAR Color Guard.



Larry Tatum presents the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal to Dan Dryer.



Larry Tatum presents the Bronze Distinguished Service Medal to Tim Peterman.



*Larry Tatum presents the Bronze C.A.R.-SAR Medal of Appreciation Oak Leaf Cluster to Dick Nelson.* 

5



Larry Tatum presents the Certificate of Distinguished Service to Dewey Fry, David Yuengert is seated to the left.



Dewey Fry presents the Edgar E. Grover Colonial Soldier of the Year Award to Kirk Rush.



Larry Tatum presents the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal Oak Leaf Cluster to Stu Conrad.



*Larry Tatum presents the Bronze Meritorious Service Medal to Steven French.* 



Larry Tatum presents the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal Oak Leaf Cluster to Kirk Rush.



*Larry Tatum presents the Certificate of Distinguished Service to Bruce Smith.* 



KSSSAR President Vern Welkner presents the Silver SAR 250th Anniversary of the USA Medal to Pat Fry, Allen Martin is standing to the right.



Dewey Fry presents the Silver Color Guard Medal to Steven French.



Dewey Fry presents the Molly Pitcher Medal to Lisa Rush.